Broiled Brussel Sprouts with Panch Phoran

by ifrdaily

1 lb brussel sprouts
2 tbsp avocado oil
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/2 tbsp panch phoran
generous squeeze of lemon juice

Wash brussel sprouts and trim off yellow leaves. Slice in half along the longer median. Lay in a flat layer in a baking tray or ovenproof pan. When I’m looking for quick clean-up, I line my baking tray with foil beforehand.
20140222-111015.jpg
Drizzle with avocado oil. If you have mustard oil, that’s an even better option. Some folks use olive oil. Use whatever floats your boat or appeals to you at the moment.

Sprinkle with salt and panch phoran. Toss.
20140222-111210.jpg
Broil on high for about 4-5 minutes, keeping an eye on the loose leaves. They caramelize beautifully but you don’t want them to completely char. Toss and broil for another 4-5 minutes until you have tender brussel sprouts at the center and crispy outer leaves.

20140222-111517.jpg
Squeeze a generous dash of fresh lemon juice and toss. Serve immediately.
20140222-112504.jpg

This is one of my favorite ways to have brussel sprouts. Broiling is quicker than roasting, as the latter takes about 45-50 minutes. We like them crunchy rather than soft and mushy. Sometimes, I throw in a few whole garlic pods. Other times, I sprinkle some red chile powder.

I think I first learned of this recipe through a friend of Bong Mom and have been forever grateful!

